You Want Me To Drink How Much?!?!

Over the last few times I have been to the Dr. for the pregnancy I have been told I need to drink 1 gallon or more of water a day! Who drinks that much and still has room to eat the amount of food needed to sustain a pregnancy?

I understand the reasons for that much fluid needed in your body. Without the proper amount of fluids your body starts puling it from your muscles. Seeing as the uterus is a muscle and the lack of fluids can cause contractions in muscles this is not a good thing. Then there is the need to stay hydrated so that your body can function properly in other ways. Blood flow is also affected by lack of fluids in the body. Lack of blood flow can cause one to be light-headed and dizzy.

I have never consumed this much water in a day my entire life. I am working on increasing the amount I drink slowly because I feel so bloated if I try to drink that much fluid in a day. I have made it to 3 bottles (32oz.) on most days. M has been trying to help by making sure I have water at all times but the problem with that is that I can have one bottle last all day. If I don’t drink at least 2 a day I feel the effects by the next day.

I also know that if I don’t get better at drinking enough now I won’t be able to breastfeed for the first two years. I know that was part of the problem with my youngest baby when I had to stop breastfeeding him at 9 months because I didn’t have enough supply to meet his demand.

I guess I need to figure out a way to make sure that I make it to a gallon a day by the time Gavin is born. Time to start some brainstorming and maybe look for an app for my phone that reminds me to drink more everyday!!!

Leave a Reply

