Lesson 5: Turn

In this lesson I learn how to make a 180 degree turn in my life, giving it over to my Higher Power, Jesus Christ. I begin working Principal 3 and Step 3.

 

Trust

Understand

Repent

New life

 

Write About It …

1. What is stopping you from asking Jesus Christ into your heart as your Lord and Savior? If you have already asked him into your life describe your experience!

* I found it very interesting that this question asks me what was stopping me from asking Jesus into my heart and then states if I have already invited him into my life to describe my experience. I guess I was about 13 when I asked him into my heart as my Savior. But as I got into Step Study, I learned that asking him into my heart was not the same as asking Him into my life. I have to daily ask Him into my life so that I can do His will not my own.

2. How has relying on your “own understanding” caused problems in your life? Be Specific!

* It caused me to make some very huge mistakes. I felt I was unable to care for my children when if I had just asked God for his grace and mercy he would have helped me. I wound up in a marriage that I thought God wanted me in but after seeing the truth about the person that was in front of me I realized that I had relied on my own understanding not what I was being led to do!

3. What does “repent” mean to you? What do you need to repent of?

* Repent simply means that I am to be truly sorry for what I have done wrong and do a 180 degree turn away from that action. Also I am to do my best to not repeat the same thing  through the power of Jesus. I am sure there are several things that I need to repent of in my life. Maybe its my pregnancy brain fog getting in the way right now but I can’t come up with anything to share on this one right now. Sorry!!!

4. What does the declaration of “not guilty” found in Romans 3:22 mean to you?

* First off I noticed that the questions says 3:22 and it’s found in 3:24 for both the NIV and NLT versions of the Bible. I guess everyone really does make mistakes! Instead … Romans 3:24 says “Yet now God in his gracious kindness declares us not guilty. He has done this through Christ Jesus, who has freed us by taking away our sins.” Not guilty means that I don’t have to suffer with the shame of my guilt, my sadness and fear any longer. That I can move on without the weight of my past with a clean slate.

5. When you turn your life over to your Higher Power, Jesus Christ, you have a “new life” (see 2 Corinthians 5:17). What does that “new life” mean to you? ~ 2 Corinthians 5:17 says “What this means is that those who become Christians become new persons. They are not the same anymore, for the old life is gone. A new life has begun!

* To me a new life means that I get to start over, the slate of my life is wiped clean. I get the chance to do things the right way, Gods Way, to follow his will. I am a new creation in Christ!!!

6. What does the Principal 3 prayer mean to you? ~ Dear God: I have tried to do it all by myself, on my own power, and I have failed. Today, I want to turn my life over to You. I ask you to be my lord and my Savior. You are the one and only Higher Power! I ask that you help me start to think less about me and my direction and wisdom for my life. Please continue to help me overcome my hurts, hang-ups, and habits and may that victory over them help others as they see your power at work in changing my life. Help me to do your will always. In Jesus name I pray. Amen!

* It means that I have asked for yet another chance to bend my will over to Christ and allow him to take over my hurts and hang-ups. It’s my “not guilty” verdict and the beginning of my new life. ~ I am choosing to not do this on my own. I am continuing to step out of denial and hand over my life to Christ everyday! ~ This prayer makes me think of how much grace God has given me. Since I have already asked Christ into my heart it reminds me to daily turn my will over to him. It gives me a place to go when no-one but Him can help me with my problems.

Leave a Reply

