Baby Issues

So here’s the deal … I am seriously confused as to what is going on with Gavin. He eats just fine if not too much and is gaining weight just fine. He was 7lbs. 7oz. when he was born and is now around 11lbs. But here are the issues; he is having green discharge from his eyes, fussing while refusing to sleep at times, and having extreme blow out diapers for the last two weeks.

The doctor he currently has said a few things that don’t sit well with me. He said that the discharge coming from Gavin’s eyes was okay even though its green and at times can seal his eyes shut, that a baby can cry for 3 hours and that it’s “okay”, and that the blow out dirty diapers that are almost water is due to lactose intolerance.

I know from personal experience and what several other pediatricians have told me lactose intolerance is usually accompanied by throwing/spitting up after eating and my oldest boy, Jorin, proved that when he was only a few days old. He never had blow out diapers like this and they certainly were not liquid. Gavin hasn’t been throwing/spitting up unless there is a burp behind it and that is usually only a little bit. My oldest boy would literally project his just eaten milk across the room. Once he even hit the TV with it … Oh Boy … was I glad I had wood floors back then!!!

Regardless of my past experiences I am eliminating major milk products ie; milk, cheese, yogurt & butter, from my diet for a week, maybe two, just to see what happens. I don’t at all agree that Gavins eyes are fine and I certainly don’t think that  letting a baby cry for three hours is okay AT ALL!!!

I scheduled an appointment with a new doctor for Monday next week to have him re-evaluated and I’m going to be switching to this doctor since he is closer to my house. I hope I don’t have to change doctors again, it is such a pain in the behind!!!
One thought on “Baby Issues

  1. Good girl! I totally agree with you that those symptoms are not normal. And no loving mother is gonna allow her baby to cry for three hours no matter what a doctor says. That's just not how a mom works! Glad to hear that you are taking him to a new doctor to get a second opinion! I'd do the same too! Hopefully you'll get some answers this time and hope Gavin starts getting better soon! Poor little guy! Let me know how it goes, and I'll be praying for Gavin! Love ya sis!!!!

Leave a Reply

