Our Love Languages

For months now Matt has been saying that he is missing the affection that I used to give him. I finally figured out what happened and why that has been an issue. His love languages are *Physical Touch* & *Acts of Service* and mine are *Words of Affirmation* & *Quality Time* I thought I would just share what these mean and leave a link on the bottom for everyone to see what their *Love Language* is. There were 30 questions and the highest score that you can get in one category is 12.

These are my actual Love Language Scores:
~ 12 Words of Affirmation
~ 9 Quality Time
~ 6 Physical Touch
~ 3 Acts of Service
~ Undefined Receiving Gifts – (In other words gifts mean almost nothing to me!!!)

The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman:

~ Words of Affirmation – Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.

~ Quality Time – In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there, with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby, makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.

~ Receiving Gifts – Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous, so would the absence of everyday gestures.

~ Acts of Service – Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most wants to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.

~ Physical Touch – This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face, they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.


2 thoughts on “Our Love Languages

  1. It e-mails the results to the email address that you put in at some point so you can go back to it if you need to.

    I think we as women tend to flock together when we look for friends. I know for me I need the girls I am friends with are usually a lot like me!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s